Weather Symbols
Symbol METAR Code Description
Dust or sand
Weather symbol FU VA Smoke or volcanic Ash
Weather symbol HZ Haze
Weather symbol DU SA Dust or sand
Weather symbol BLDU BLSA Blowing dust or sand
Weather symbol PO Dust devil
Weather symbol VCSS Vicinity sand storm
Fog or special weather
Weather symbol BR Mist or light fog
Weather symbol MIFG More or less continuous shallow fog
Weather symbol VCTS Vicinity thunderstorm
Weather symbol VIRGA Virga or precipitation not hitting ground
Weather symbol VCSH Vicinity showers
Weather Symbol TS Thunderstorm with or without precipitation
Weather Symbol SQ Squalls
Weather Symbol FC Funnel cloud or tornado
Blowing weather
Weather Symbol SS Sand or dust storm
Weather Symbol +SS Strong sand or dust storm
Weather Symbol BLSN Blowing snow
Weather Symbol DRSN Drifting snow
Fog
Weather Symbol VCFG Vicinity fog
Weather Symbol BCFG Patchy fog
Weather Symbol PRFG Fog, sky discernable
Weather Symbol FG Fog, sky undiscernable
Weather Symbol FZFG Freezing fog
Drizzle
Weather Symbol -DZ Light drizzle
Weather Symbol DZ Moderate drizzle
Weather Symbol +DZ Heavy drizzle
Weather Symbol -FZDZ Light freezing drizzle
Weather Symbol FZDZ +FZDZ Moderate to heavy freezing drizzle
Weather Symbol -DZRA Light drizzle and rain
Weather Symbol DZRA Moderate to heavy drizzle and rain
Rain
Weather Symbol -RA Light rain
Weather Symbol RA Moderate rain
Weather Symbol +RA Heavy rain
Weather Symbol -FZRA Light freezing rain
Weather Symbol FZRA +FZRA Moderate to heavy freezing rain
Weather Symbol -RASN Light rain and snow
Weather Symbol RASN +RASN Moderate to heavy rain and snow
Snow and misc. frozen precipitation
Weather Symbol -SN Light snow
Weather Symbol SN Moderate snow
Weather Symbol +SN Heavy snow
Weather Symbol SG Snow grains
Weather Symbol IC Ice crystals
Weather Symbol PE PL Ice pellets
Showery precipitation
Weather Symbol -SHRA Light rain showers
Weather Symbol SHRA +SHRA Moderate to heavy rain showers
Weather Symbol -SHRASN Light rain and snow showers
Weather Symbol SHRASN +SHRASN Moderate to heavy rain and snow showers
Weather Symbol -SHSN Light snow showers
Weather Symbol SHSN +SHSN Moderate to heavy snow showers
Weather Symbol -GR Light showers with hail, not with thunder
Weather Symbol GR Moderate to heavy showers with hail, not with thunder
Thunderstorms
Weather Symbol TSRA Light to moderate thunderstorm with rain
Weather Symbol TSGR Light to moderate thunderstorm with hail
Weather Symbol +TSRA Thunderstorm with heavy rain

Page loaded:  08:46 UTC  |   12:46 AM Pacific  |   01:46 AM Mountain  |   02:46 AM Central  |   03:46 AM Eastern