GFA-AK Evaluation

The Aviation Weather Center is holding a virtual evaluation of the recently updated Graphical Forecasts for Aviation (GFA) over the months of June through September 2021. This virtual evaluation will focus primarly on the expansion of the GFA to cover the Alaskan domain. In addition, AWC will be seeking feedback on some updated capabilities including Low Level Wind Shear forecast guidance and Geostationary Lightning Mapper (GLM) data from the GOES-R satellite. 


Experiment Design

Participants are encouraged to look at the experimental GFA as part of their daily workflow and decision making to assess its usability and utility. Particpants are asked to note any issues, information that they need that is missing, and any general comments on the GFA's performance for their needs. In partnership with the FAA's Aviation Demonstration and Evaluation Services (AWDE), AWC will be collecting feedback in the following ways :

  • Virtual interviews with AWDE human factors experts

    Each participant will be asked to set up a virtual interview via Google Meets that will last about 20 minutes. The interview can be scheduled any time during the evaluation period, and AWDE staff will ask targeted questions to gain insight on the participants' user experience with the GFA. For optimal results, participants should utilize the GFA for several days prior to their scheduled interview time in order to fully assess its capabilities.
  • User Survey

    AWDE has also put together a final questionnaire that can be taken once the participant feels they've spent an adequate amount of time utilizing the GFA to provide sufficient feedback. The survey is in Google Forms format, and can be found by clicking on the link below:

           GFA-AK Evaluation Survey

  • Virtual Q&A/Discussion session

    AWC will be hosting a virtual Q&A/Discussion session for those participants that are interested. The Google Meets meeting will take place on June 15th, at 10am AKDT. All participants will be sent an invite shortly after the evaluation period begins. 

    To register for the Q&A session click here!
 
Testbed Links 

Page loaded:  09:17 UTC  |   01:17 AM Pacific  |   02:17 AM Mountain  |   03:17 AM Central  |   04:17 AM Eastern